Katsina Assembly joins impeachment wagon, sacks Speaker


KATSINA, FEBRUARY 15, 2017 – The gale of impeachment in state house of assembly speakers across the country has reached Katsina as the state Assembly members on Wednesday voted out Speaker Aliyu Muduru.

Twenty-four out of the 34 members of the House of Assembly voted in favour of the impeachment and removal of Speaker Muduru.

His removal followed a motion moved by Hanbali Faruk, the Assembly majority leader, who represents Katsina constituency.

The motion was seconded by Abubakar Total, member representing Funtua constituency.

Sequel to Muduru’s impeachment, the lawmakers immediately elected Yahya Abubakar from Kusada constituency as the new speaker and swore him in during the day’s session.

Also removed along the Speaker was Bishir Mamman Dutsin-ma, the chief whip.

He was as well replaced with Nasir Yahaya, a member representing Daura constituency.

Katsina has now joined other states’ assemblies of Abia, Rivers, Jigawa and Ondo, who have all booted out their speakers in the last three months.

DCSL 90X780